Bangkok turns 235 years old today, April 21. It was this day in 1782 royal astrologers selected to lay the pillar establishing the city. Today, Bangkok is divided into 50 khet, or districts. They were numbered based on the order they were founded: the first being Phra Nakhon and the last Bang Bon. Reading through their history will reveal a recurring theme of plants, canals and terms related to farming – homage to the yonder days when Bangkok was an agricultural plain with nary a hint to the metropolis to come.

Khet protip: Bang in a lot of district names means “many” or “a place of.”

For link to the interactive feature please click HERE.