Court Rejects Protesters' Insurrection Charges Warrant

Anti-government protesters outside Government House, 9 December 2013

(9 December) The Criminal Court has refused to issue arrest warrants on insurrection charges against 13 anti-government protest leaders as requested by the police.

Earlier at 10.00 today, the Royal Thai police has told the court that the 13 leaders have violated the Constitution by engaging in an ?insurrection? against the government and urging the protesters to commit unlawful actions, resulting in chaotic situation across the country.
 Names attached in the arrest warrants were Mr. Sathit Wongnongtoey, Mr. Chumphon Julsai, Mr. Phuttipong Punnakan, Mr. Isara Somchai, Mr. Wittaya Kaewparadai, Mr. Thaworn Senneam, Mr. Nathaphon Theepsuwan, Mr. Ekkanat Prompan, Ms. Anchalee Phaireerak, Mr. Nithithorn Lamluea, Mr. Uthai Yodmanee, Second Lieutenant Samdin Lertbut, and General Preecha Eaiamsuphan.
However, the court rejected the request to issue arrest warrants, claiming that the situation is being defused by Prime Minister Yingluck Shinawatra′s announcement that she will dissolve parliament and call fresh election. Therefore, the court′s statement says, it does not see any further possibility of violence.
It also advised the police to summon the protest leaders to give their testimonies first before requesting arrest warrants.



For comments, or corrections to this article please contact: [email protected]

You can also find Khaosod English on Twitter and Facebook